Under my hat

2010-06-13

Another Monopoly puzzle

Filed under: Games — Tags: , — subgalea @ 11:06

Under the strictest possible reading of the rules, what other card besides “Go To Jail” might send the player who draws it to Jail?
Granted, if you tried to enforce this during a game, you might get players to agree that the rules literally do imply jail in this odd circumstance, but few, if any, would agree that the author intended it to be so.

Advertisements

2 Comments »

  1. ok, i’ll bite — what card??

    Comment by jonathan elliott — 2010-06-27 @ 18:26

  2. “Advance token to nearest utility.”

    If you have reached Chance on your second throw of doubles and draw this card, and the nearest utility is owned, you are to roll the dice again to determine the rent. If that roll is doubles, you go to jail!

    The rules don’t say that only dice rolls for the purpose of moving count.

    Comment by subgalea — 2010-06-27 @ 19:04


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: